The Police Chief, the Professional Voice of Law Enforcement
Advanced Search
August 2016HomeSite MapContact UsFAQsSubscribe/Renew/UpdateIACP

Current Issue
Search Archives
Web-Only Articles
About Police Chief
Law Enforcement Jobs
buyers Your Oppinion

Back to Archives | Back to October 2006 Contents 

Highway Safety Initiatives

Law Enforcement Challenge Winners Announced

By Joel Bolton, Lieutenant, Lake Charles, Louisiana, Police Department

inners of the 2005 IACP Law Enforcement Challenge will be honored during ceremonies this month at the annual IACP conference in Boston. The challenge recognizes sound, effective traffic safety programs and encourages agencies to adopt good policies and enforcement guidelines; to conduct training for officers on traffic safety topics; to participate in national mobilizations; to inform and educate the public; to enforce the laws that affect motorist safety; and to evaluate the work being done to identify areas that can be improvement.

Winners are determined by a panel of judges selected from law enforcement, traffic safety advocacy, national organizations, and corporate and government partners, including the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Agencies compete against agencies of similar size and responsibility for first-, second-, and third-place honors in each category. Special awards are presented to agencies that excel in specific traffic safety emphasis areas. This year, for example, the Georgia State Patrol's DUI HEAT will be honored as the best DUI program, the Colorado Springs, Colorado, Police Department will receive special recognition for its work in the speed awareness and enforcement area, and the Occupant Protection award will go to the Marion County, Indiana, Traffic Safety Partnership.

Other special awards will go to the Clackamas County, Oregon, Sheriff's Office (Best First-Time Entry); Colorado State Patrol (Child Passenger Safety); Fairfax County, Virginia, Police Department (Youth Alcohol and Municipal Motor Carrier Safety); Winter Park, Florida, Police (Technology); Fairfax City, Virginia, Police Department (Bicycle/Pedestrian Programs); and the California Highway Patrol (State Motor Carrier Safety).

The Clayton J. Hall Memorial Award, presented to the best overall law enforcement traffic safety program, goes to the Park Ridge, Illinois, Police Department. Start planning your winning application now (for more information, see (



From The Police Chief, vol. 73, no. 10, October 2006. Copyright held by the International Association of Chiefs of Police, 515 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 USA.

The official publication of the International Association of Chiefs of Police.
The online version of the Police Chief Magazine is possible through a grant from the IACP Foundation. To learn more about the IACP Foundation, click here.

All contents Copyright © 2003 - International Association of Chiefs of Police. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright and Trademark Notice | Member and Non-Member Supplied Information | Links Policy

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA USA 22314 phone: 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THE IACP fax: 703.836.4543

Created by Matrix Group International, Inc.®