The Police Chief, the Professional Voice of Law Enforcement
Advanced Search
September 2016HomeSite MapContact UsFAQsSubscribe/Renew/UpdateIACP

Current Issue
Search Archives
Web-Only Articles
About Police Chief
Law Enforcement Jobs
buyers Your Oppinion

Back to Archives | Back to September 2003 Contents 

Highway Safety Initiatives

National Chiefs Challenge 2002 Winners Announced

By Patricia Cahill, Executive Director, IACP Foundation, Strategic Plan Administrator, IACP, and Advisor to the National Chiefs Challenge Program

he results are in, and the winners of the 2002 IACP National Chiefs Challenge have been notified. Competition was especially fierce this year, with the largest number of entries in the program's 12-year history: 411.

The Chiefs Challenge is an annual national highway safety competition developed under a grant from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and designed to encourage departments to step up enforcement in the targeted areas of impaired driving, occupant protection, and speed reduction.

Agencies compete against departments of similar size and type. First-place winners in every category receive one registration for the annual IACP conference and round-trip airfare to the conference city and three nights' stay at a conference hotel for one person.

The top finisher in each category is also eligible to win one year's use of a Ford Excursion, courtesy of the Ford Motor Company and fully outfitted by Code 3 Incorporated. The winner of a year's use of the Excursion is announced at an award ceremony during the annual conference.

To apply for the 2003 National Chiefs Challenge, request an application from Program Manager Dick Ashton (

The IACP, along with its partners in highway safety, congratulates the 2002 National Chiefs Challenge winners:
  • Municipal: 1-10 sworn officers
    First: Bannockburn, Ill., Police Dept.
    Second: Calvert City, Ky., Police Dept.
    Third: West Point, Va., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 11-25 sworn officers
    First: Lavonia, Ga., Police Dept.
    Second: Saint Peter, Minn., Police Dept.
    Third: Barrington Hills, Ill., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 26-50 sworn officers
    First: Lake Zurich, Ill., Police Dept.
    Second (tie): Christiansburg, Va., Police Dept.;
    Lantana, Fla., Police Dept.; and
    Union City, Ga., Police Dept.
    Third: Lake Wales, Fla., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 51-100 sworn officers
    First: Buffalo Grove, Ill., Police Dept.
    Second: Streamwood, Ill., Police Dept.
    Third: Leesburg, Va., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 101-250 sworn officers
    First: Naperville, Ill., Police Dept.
    Second: Port Saint Lucie, Fla., Police Dept.
    Third: Roanoke, Va., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 251-500 sworn officers
    First: Hampton, Va., Police Dept.
    Second: Tallahassee, Fla., Police Dept.
    Third: Springfield, Ill., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 501-1,000 sworn officers
    First: Virginia Beach, Va., Police Dept.
    Second: Fresno, Calif., Police Dept.
    Third: Tampa, Fla., Police Dept.
  • Municipal: 1,001-2,000 sworn officers
    First: Fairfax County, Va., Police Dept.
    Second: Austin, Tex., Police Dept.
  • State Police: 1-250 sworn officers
    First: North Dakota Highway Patrol
    Second: Alaska State Troopers
  • State Police: 501-1,000 sworn officers
    First: Minnesota State Patrol
    Second: Georgia State Patrol
    Third: Oregon State Police
  • State Police: 1,001 or more sworn officers
    First: Washington State Patrol
    Second: New York State Police
    Third (tie): Maryland State Police; and
    Pennsylvania State Police
  • Sheriff: 1-10 sworn officers
    First: Grand Isle, Vt., Sheriff's Dept.
    Second: Washington County, Vt., Sheriff's Dept.
  • Sheriff: 11-25 sworn officers
    First: King William, Va., Sheriff's Office
    Second: Whiteside County, Ill., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 26-50 sworn officers
    First: Wythe County, Va., Sheriff's Office
    Second: Elbert County, Ga., Sheriff's Office
    Third: Ogle County, Ill., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 51-100 sworn officers
    First: Fauquier County, Va., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 101-250 sworn officers
    First: Stafford County, Va., Sheriff's Office
    Second: Hanover County, Va., Sheriff's Office
    Third: Rockingham County, Va., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 251-500 sworn officers
    First: Brevard County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
    Second: Pasco County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
    Third: Osceola County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 501-1,000 sworn officers
    First: Lee County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
  • Sheriff: 1,001-2,000 sworn officers
    First: Jacksonville, Fla., Sheriff's Office
    Second: Orange County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
    Third: Palm Beach County, Fla., Sheriff's Office
  • University Police Agencies
    First: Virginia Tech Univ. Police Dept.
    Second: Southern Illinois Univ. Police Dept.
    Third (tie): Western Kentucky Univ. Police Dept.; and
    Univ. of Virginia Police Dept.
  • State Associations
    First: Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police
    Second: Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Multijurisdictional Initiatives
    First: H.E.A.T. of Metro Atlanta, Ga.
    Second: Operation Will to Live,
    Will County, Ill., Sheriff's Office
  • Championship Class
    (First-place winners from last year's challenge)

    First: California Highway Patrol
    Second (tie): Hoffman Estates, Ill., Police Dept.; and
    Schaumburg, Ill., Police Dept.
    Third: Howard County, Md., Dept. of Police
  • Clayton J. Hall Memorial Award
    Washington State Patrol
  • First-Time Entry Award
    Des Plaines, Ill., Police Dept.
  • Child Passenger Safety Award
    California Highway Patrol; and
    Jacksonville, Fla., Sheriff's Office
  • Impaired Driving Enforcement Award
    California Highway Patrol; and
    H.E.A.T. of Metro Atlanta, Ga.
  • Occupant Protection Award
    Hoffman Estates, Ill., Police Dept.
  • Speed Awareness Award
    H.E.A.T. of Metro Atlanta, Ga.
  • Underage Alcohol Prevention Award
    New York State Police
  • Technology Award
    California Highway Patrol♦



From The Police Chief, vol. 70, no. 9, September 2003. Copyright held by the International Association of Chiefs of Police, 515 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 USA.

The official publication of the International Association of Chiefs of Police.
The online version of the Police Chief Magazine is possible through a grant from the IACP Foundation. To learn more about the IACP Foundation, click here.

All contents Copyright © 2003 - International Association of Chiefs of Police. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright and Trademark Notice | Member and Non-Member Supplied Information | Links Policy

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA USA 22314 phone: 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THE IACP fax: 703.836.4543

Created by Matrix Group International, Inc.®