New York State’s Counterterrorism Zone 4: A Model of Interagency Cooperation to Fight Terrorism

In September 11, 2001, 155 residents of the New York City suburban counties of Rockland, Orange, and Sullivan were killed during the attack on the World Trade Center. Many of the deceased were law enforcement officers and firefighters. While not having the resources of the New York City Police Department (NYPD) available, state, county, and local law enforcement in suburban counties were as committed as the NYPD to preventing another attack in their area. From this commitment has come the interagency cooperative effort to fight terrorism. Now, the federal, state, county, and local agencies work together through New York State’s Office of Homeland Security to field proactive counterterrorism action teams and intelligence officers to deter and prevent terrorist activities in their area and New York City using current resources.